Review of The Sandman

I highly recommend the crime thriller The Sandman by the Swedish writing duo known as Lars Kepler.  The authors never let up on the throttle in this relentless and bloody shocker.  The suspense mounts as an evil character locked up in an asylum for the criminally insane still manages to terrorize everybody he comes in contact with.  This is the best thriller I’ve read so far this year.  I’m going to make a point of reading another entry in the Joona Linna series, of which this is book 6.

Force of Impact in an ITW giveaway

An autographed copy of Bryan Cassiday’s latest Ethan Carr thriller Force of Impact will be donated to the International Thriller Writers Big Thrill Giveaway to be held in May 2018.  Enter the giveaway for a chance to win the breakneck thriller that critics are calling “addictive reading.” Details of the contest will be related later by the International Thriller Writers.  Or if you want your copy this week, buy one now at Amazon.

“A potent shot of contemporary LA noir that will have readers hooked from page one.  Fans of Dennis Lehane and James Ellroy will love Force of Impact.”–BestThrillers.com

Force of Impact

Rave Review for Force of Impact

Bryan Cassiday’s latest Ethan Carr thriller just got a rave review from BestThrillers.com.

“A potent shot of contemporary LA noir that will have readers hooked from page one.  Fans of Dennis Lehane and James Ellroy will love Force of Impact.”–BestThrillers.com

Buy Force of Impact today on Kindle.

Force of Impact

Unsane by Steven Soderbergh

I have mixed feelings about Steven Soderbergh’s latest thriller Unsane.  I liked the way he worked his trademark indictment of the health insurance industry into the film’s story, which made it seem more realistic.  On the other hand, the whole movie was shot on an iPhone, and the results are a blurry, dreary movie, especially when the scenes are shot inside the insane asylum.  Everything seems to fade into the background.  I found the movie suspenseful, but not scary.

It turns out to be an unpleasant movie about an unpleasant woman who is being stalked, or is she losing her mind?  Whatever’s happening to her, she isn’t sympathetic thanks to her offensive personality.

Maybe if Soderbergh uses a newer-model iPhone next time, his movie won’t look so blurry.

Soderbergh is a good match for horror movies, because he has a realistic approach to them, which makes them more believable.

I’ll recommend Unsane, but with reservations.

Streets with No Name

Bryan Cassiday’s newest pulse-pounding boxed set Streets with No Name is now available exclusively on Kindle.

The conflicted PI Ethan Carr battles himself and assorted thugs that permeate Los Angeles, a blood-drenched city with no remorse.

Exit Strategy is now available for preorder

Bryan Cassiday’s new mystery thriller short story Exit Strategy is now available for preorder on Kindle.

Fired from his job at the IRS, Zachary Bodwell believes someone is following him with the intent to  kill him in Bryan Cassiday’s spellbinding Exit Strategy.