Midwest Book Review raves about Bolt

Midwest Book Review just gave Bryan Cassiday’s new thriller Bolt a rave review.

“A deftly crafted roller coaster of a ride for the reader, Bryan Cassiday’s novel, Bolt, is a truly riveting read from cover to cover. While unreservedly recommended for community library Contemporary Suspense/Thriller Fiction collections, it should be noted for personal reading lists that Bolt is also available in a digital book format.”

Bolt 2

Another Blurb for Bolt

Bryan Cassiday’s Bolt just received another great blurb from a best-selling thriller writer.

“Noir suspense at its best! Private eyes, hit men, globe-trotting, and characters you don’t know whether you can trust or not. Fans of James Ellroy, Dennis Lehane, and Fredrick Forsyth will love Bolt!”–Matthew Farrell, best-selling author of What Have You Done

Bolt 2

Another Great Blurb for Bryan Cassiday’s Thriller Bolt

Bryan Cassiday’s newest thriller Bolt just received another great blurb, this one from award-winning author Brendan DuBois, who wrote the New York Times best seller The Cornwalls Are Gone with James Patterson.

“From the very start, Bryan Cassiday spins what appears to be a typical Southern Californian private investigation novel in Bolt, but quickly takes off in a direction that speaks to our current troubled times.  Well-plotted and crisply written, with great characterization, this is one to look for.”–New York Times best-selling and award-winning author Brendan DuBois

Mission Impossible Fallout equals explosive action

I know I’m late to the party, but I finally got a chance to see Mission Impossible Fallout.

This is the first movie I’ve seen in a Dolby Theater. It was a little more expensive, but worth it because of the quality of the picture and the sound, especially the sound. Fallout is a great action-packed movie. Has to be one of the best–if not the best–of the Tom Cruise series. I recommend it highly. I’m glad I finally got to see it before it left the theaters. If you get a chance, watch it in a Dolby Theater. For my money, it intensifies the moviegoing experience with vibrant images and equally vibrant sound.  I can’t wait for the next MI to come out, hopefully with the same outstanding director and writer–Christopher McQuarrie.  And, of course, Tom Cruise.

The Accountant review

The Accountant is an intricate thriller with an assassin who isn’t your garden-variety mass murderer.  He is autistic and he also happens to be an accountant.  Some of his clients include Mafia capos and various other criminal bosses.  Ben Affleck is good as the accountant who can’t express his feelings to other people because of his autism.  Even though he’s emotionally handicapped, he is a whiz at math and killing people.  It’s a good story idea having an autistic killer but perhaps overdone.  A bit too maudlin for my sake with the autistic children scenes, it nevertheless has plenty of action and plenty of story to hold the interest and has a nice twist near the end.  But who was that woman who assigned the accountant his jobs over the phone?  Maybe they’ll make a sequel to fill us in.

I recommend this action-packed thriller.  Why doesn’t Hollywood make more thrillers for adults like this?  Then I could go to the movies more often.

London Has Fallen–or maybe not

I saw London Has Fallen. London is attacked by hundreds of well-armed terrorists who want to kidnap the US president. The terrorists are all over London, and only Secret Service Agent Gerard Butler can save the day. But can he? Butler wastes terrorists by the boatload. Huge bodycount in this action thriller. It’s not up there with the Bourne movies in terms of quality because the main character isn’t as interesting as Bourne, but it’s entertaining, though implausible.  Is London that poorly defended?