Irishman

I saw Scorcese’s Irishman on Netflix and I liked it.  I didn’t watch the entire 3 1/2 hours of it in one night.  I watched it over the course of four days, but, even so, I fell asleep in it several times because it is deliberately paced.  In fact, I missed so much of it that I watched it over again and found out that I had missed some of the best parts.

Even though it’s very long, it’s a fascinating study of mobsters and their interaction with unions and politicians, namely the Teamsters union and President John F. Kennedy.  According to the movie, the Chicago Mafia thought by helping Kennedy get elected president he would return the favor by enabling them to reopen their casinos in Cuba.  But it wasn’t to be.  Instead, his brother Bobby, appointed as attorney general, turned up the heat on the Mafia–and Hoffa, as well.  How this all plays out is fascinating to watch.

Bryan Cassiday meets Lars Kepler

The thriller authors Bryan Cassiday (middle) and Lars Kepler met at Bouchercon 2019 in Dallas in November.  Lars Kepler is actually the Swedish writing team of Alexandra Coelho Ahndoril (left) and Alexander Ahndoril (right).

lars kepler and me

Midwest Book Review raves about Bolt

Midwest Book Review just gave Bryan Cassiday’s new thriller Bolt a rave review.

“A deftly crafted roller coaster of a ride for the reader, Bryan Cassiday’s novel, Bolt, is a truly riveting read from cover to cover. While unreservedly recommended for community library Contemporary Suspense/Thriller Fiction collections, it should be noted for personal reading lists that Bolt is also available in a digital book format.”

Bolt 2

Bolt by Bryan Cassiday

“From the very start, Bryan Cassiday spins what appears to be a typical Southern Californian private investigation novel in Bolt, but quickly takes off in a direction that speaks to our current troubled times.  Well plotted and crisply written, with great characterization, this is one to look for.”–Brendan DuBois, coauthor with James Patterson of the New York Times best seller The Cornwalls Are Gone

 

Bryan Cassiday’s explosive new thriller Bolt is now available on Kindle.

Bolt 2

Another Blurb for Bolt

Bryan Cassiday’s Bolt just received another great blurb from a best-selling thriller writer.

“Noir suspense at its best! Private eyes, hit men, globe-trotting, and characters you don’t know whether you can trust or not. Fans of James Ellroy, Dennis Lehane, and Fredrick Forsyth will love Bolt!”–Matthew Farrell, best-selling author of What Have You Done

Bolt 2