About bryancassiday

Bryan Cassiday writes thrillers and horror fiction. He wrote "Zombie Apocalypse: The Chad Halverson Series" and the Ethan Carr thriller series, which includes "Force of Impact," singled out by BestThrillers.com as "a potent shot of contemporary LA noir that will have readers hooked from page one."

Bryan Cassiday meets Lars Kepler

The thriller authors Bryan Cassiday (middle) and Lars Kepler met at Bouchercon 2019 in Dallas in November.  Lars Kepler is actually the Swedish writing team of Alexandra Coelho Ahndoril (left) and Alexander Ahndoril (right).

lars kepler and me

Plague of the Zombies (1966)

Plague of the Zombies was on TCM last night. This is the first movie that had zombies in it that looked like they had actually risen from the dead, looking decrepit and rotting. In previous movies the zombies looked like ordinary people shambling around with their eyes bugging out of their heads.

However, these zombies in Plague were still taking orders from their human masters who controlled them with voodoo as Bela Lugosi did in White Zombie. Granted, the zombie special effects in Plague were nothing to write home about, but they were an improvement over previous film zombies.

The zombies in Plague of the Zombies hadn’t yet morphed into independent flesh eaters that take orders from no one. That was to come later in George Romero’s Night of the Living Dead, which presaged today’s Hollywood zombies. It was Romero that created zombies as we know them today–the carnivorous walking dead that eat human flesh and take orders from no one, mindless beasts wreaking havoc on the world for no other reason than to eat.

The zombies in my Zombie Apocalypse: The Chad Halverson Series take after Romero’s zombies.

 

Midwest Book Review raves about Bolt

Midwest Book Review just gave Bryan Cassiday’s new thriller Bolt a rave review.

“A deftly crafted roller coaster of a ride for the reader, Bryan Cassiday’s novel, Bolt, is a truly riveting read from cover to cover. While unreservedly recommended for community library Contemporary Suspense/Thriller Fiction collections, it should be noted for personal reading lists that Bolt is also available in a digital book format.”

Bolt 2

Bolt by Bryan Cassiday

“From the very start, Bryan Cassiday spins what appears to be a typical Southern Californian private investigation novel in Bolt, but quickly takes off in a direction that speaks to our current troubled times.  Well plotted and crisply written, with great characterization, this is one to look for.”–Brendan DuBois, coauthor with James Patterson of the New York Times best seller The Cornwalls Are Gone

 

Bryan Cassiday’s explosive new thriller Bolt is now available on Kindle.

Bolt 2

Another Blurb for Bolt

Bryan Cassiday’s Bolt just received another great blurb from a best-selling thriller writer.

“Noir suspense at its best! Private eyes, hit men, globe-trotting, and characters you don’t know whether you can trust or not. Fans of James Ellroy, Dennis Lehane, and Fredrick Forsyth will love Bolt!”–Matthew Farrell, best-selling author of What Have You Done

Bolt 2