About bryancassiday

Bryan Cassiday writes thrillers and horror fiction. He wrote "Zombie Apocalypse: The Chad Halverson Series" and the Ethan Carr thriller series, which includes "Force of Impact," singled out by BestThrillers.com as "a potent shot of contemporary LA noir that will have readers hooked from page one."

Wrapping up My Latest Crime Thriller

I think I’ve finished writing my latest crime thriller. I’ve read it over about ten times. I think it’s in good shape now. I’m getting to the point where I’ve almost memorized it. I believe I’ve reached saturation point. To read it again would not be beneficial at this point. When I read something over and over to the extent that I become bored, it’s accomplishing nothing because I’m not paying attention. Time to move on to the next book

Free Thriller on Kindle

Bryan Cassiday’s shocking crime thriller Force of Impact is free today only on Kindle.

BestThrillers.com calls Force of Impact “a potent shot of contemporary LA noir that will have readers hooked from page one.  Fans of Dennis Lehane and James Ellroy will love Force of Impact.”

“A fast-paced detective novel enhanced by exceptional characters and a striking
ending.”–Kirkus Reviews  

Next Explosive Thriller

I’m doing things a little different this time.  Instead of choosing self-publishing as my first option, I have submitted the MS of my newest crime thriller to a publisher.  I will see how this pans out.  The publisher’s editor said he would like to see my completed MS, so I sent it to him.  As for the MS, I have reread it at least ten times and made edits.  I think it is in good shape now.  I am not ruling out self-publishing.  I’m just trying to see if I can increase my sales by going the traditional publishing route.  In any case, my latest thriller will be published, one way or the other.

Who Gets the Throne?

How will Game of Thrones end? Doesn’t Daenerys have to kill Tyrion for helping Jaime escape into the arms of his beloved sister Cersei, the archenemy of Daenerys? Or will the clever Tyrion manipulate Jon Snow into killing Daenerys so that he, Tyrion, can gain the throne?  Does the power-mad Daenerys, fresh from torching Cersei’s castle, kill Jon Snow to prevent him from assuming the throne? Or does Jon Snow kill Daenerys, seeing that she has become mad with power?

I think somehow Arya Stark might take over the throne, just like she was the one that killed the king of the Ice Dead. And, after all, she did survive Daenerys’s dragon apocalypse that torched Cersei’s town, and she galloped off into the sunset on a white horse. Arya Stark is a survivor.  She is also a savior,

Daenerys Dragon Lady

You’d have to have ice water in your veins not to enjoy Daenerys morphing from sweetie pie to psycho killer as she launches a dragon apocalypse on Cersei Lannister’s castle and fries all the townsfolk.

It just goes to show power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely.

Let’s face it, folks, this episode of Game of Thrones “The Bells” was a hoot.

50th Anniversary Year of Charlie Manson’s Rampage in Benedict Canyon

There’s an article about Charles Manson in the current edition of Esquire that mentions the movies about Manson, but it fails to mention one of the best movies about him, which was the excellent TV movie Helter Skelter starring Steve Railsback, directed by Tom Gries and based on the nonfiction book of the same name written by Vincent Bugliosi and Curt Gentry. Extreme oversight if you ask me.  Instead of mentioning the movie version of Helter Skelter, the Esquire author mentions The Haunting of Sharon Tate and Bad Times at the El Royale as movies about Charles Manson.  How can you leave out Helter Skelter?  It was one of the most popular programs on network TV during the year it premiered in 1976.

I was attending UCLA as a freshman in 1969, the year the Manson Family murdered the actress Sharon Tate and her wealthy friends.  The campus is right next door to Benedict Canyon where Roman Polanski and Sharon Tate were renting a house on Cielo Drive, the site of her murder, and I harbored the fear in the back of my mind in those days that members of Manson’s family might sneak onto campus and commit more murders in the name of Charlie and the race war he was trying to incite.  Instead of a race war, he precipitated the beginning of the end of the hippie movement, opening everyone’s eyes to the dark side of the flower people, their psychedelics, and their drug-fueled free-love orgies.